Skip to content

October 31, 2012

Orphan Sunday 2012: Security

by imreformedbaptist

I love my Dad and Mom. You will still see me kissing both of them as a 37 year old man. One of the things that I appreciate about them so much is how they provided a context for me to experience a very happy childhood. What a blessing! When you are growing up you are too busy growing up to notice those things. Now that I am older, looking back, I can articulate why I was such a happy child. First, I knew I was loved. Second, I felt secure. We were not a perfect family. We had our moments, many to which I contributed my part. Yet, I did not have to worry if my dad was going to come home at night. I did not have to worry what he was going to do when he did come home (Thanks Dad-I love you). I never questioned if my mom would get up and sit on the edge of my bed when I would call for her in the middle of the night (half dead, having to get up early-Thanks Mom. I love you). Security!!

Recently I have become more aware of how many children do not have the blessing of security and how deeply it can effect them. The video is an example of what many children in this world experience and feel. This is just animation In my opinion, what makes it so powerful is that leads you to imagine how much more intense it must be in the experience of real children.

Learn to do good; Seek justice, Reprove the ruthless, Defend the orphan, Plead for the widow (Isaiah 1:17 NAS)

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

