Skip to content

September 11, 2012

9/11: My Son’s America

by imreformedbaptist

Eleven years ago today I was driving to Greenwood, SC when I heard the news on the radio. Like most I was not sure what was going on at first, but within a short space of time I knew that our nation had come under a terrorist attack. Since that day I have become a father and I wonder what kind of America my son will know and experience.

As I set out to raise him having no certainty as to what the future holds for our land there is one lesson that I hope I can impart to him  by word and example. What is the lesson? It is quite simple. The Christian’s hope does not consist of a better America. Now, don’t get me wrong. I love this land and marvel that God ordained that I be born and live my life here. I want to see our country prosper (biblically defined). But, what if that doesn’t happen? What if things go from bad to worse? I am not the proverbial ‘Prophet of Doom’, but the fact is, there is no promise from God that America will continue to endure (no matter how resolute the ‘American spirit’ is). What if we never feel safe again? What if the economy never fully recovers and perhaps takes another plunge? I certainly would not be immune to it. Even as I think about some of the grimmest prospects I have the peace of Christ in my heart. The reason is because as a blood bought child of God, I am taught in scripture that my ultimate security and happiness is not in this present world. Quite frankly, one day this land with the rest of the world is going to burn up and will give way to a New World where the righteous will dwell with their Lord in true peace and safety. When that glorious day comes I will never have reason to shed another tear. As a loving father I want to do all I can to make my son feel safe and happy. I want him to live in a prosperous, peaceful and secure nation, but more than that, I want him to be with me in that eternal home. May the Lord help me to keep that perspective and make that my greatest focus in raising my son.

One day closer to home,

Pastor JJ

Leave a Reply

Note: HTML is allowed. Your email address will never be published.

Subscribe to comments

